Electronics and Anime in Akihabara, Japan

 After getting over the jetlagged days, I finally had a chance to get out! (It was terrible three days sleeping early in the afternoon then waking up early early in the mornings with no food to be found..) We took the train to the Akihabara station using the IC card that I got at the airport..It already came with ¥1,000 so all I have to do was use it at the train gates.

Akihabara is a district in central Tokyo known for its many electronics, anime and manga shops. A heaven for anyone who’s into anime.. The electronics seemed cheaper than what’s found in Toronto but a tourist site said to be careful about buying anything due to voltages and other technical differences. So, no electronic purchases for me but I did buy my Japanese pens that I’ve been wanting for a long time. 🙂

Anyways, Akihabara is how you would imagine a very busy Asian street..lots of lights, sale signs everywhere, hasslers trying to get you into their stores. My co-workers enjoyed all the hassling though..the hasslers are young girls dressed up in costumes..men! What surprised me the most were the ‘adult’ animes. All this time, I thought anime was about cute, friendly, innocent drawings of characters and stories..I was wrong! They had stores and stores dedicated to this stuff. I thought I had pretty much seen everything at the Amsterdam red light district, but the Japanese anime brings the topic into another new level with their creative minds. So, another set of interesting visits to these stores with my co-workers. I even had to wait 20mins while they explored the ‘mens only’ sections. Any of you, who enjoys animes, please don’t tell me..my mind has been tainted and I wouldn’t be able to look at you the same way!

This entry was posted in Asia, Japan. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

