Lost in Korea

I can be a tourist and say I don’t understand the language in other countries. It’s not weird to not know anything..but in Korea, I’m not really a tourist and I do understand the language. The expectation is then that I know what to do, where to go, how things work, etc..except I don’t. People give me directions and I don’t know the places/buildings they are referring to. My dad gave me a temporary phone..I don’t know how to text back in Korean.(Don’t judge. It’s more complicated than English 😛 ) The most embarrassing thing was yesterday..I was to meet someone from work at city hall and visit the warehouses in Korea. Since it’s a bit far from my place, my dad was driving me. When we got near the meeting point, my dad told me to ask for clearer directions. I called my co-worker but didn’t understand the directions..my dad talked to my co-worker. “Yes, this is her dad….” When we got there, my co-worker was already there. My dad gave him a big wave with a smile. They exchanged hello’s..I felt like a little kid being dropped off for first day of school. I wanted to hide..

This entry was posted in Asia, Korea. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Lost in Korea

  1. Maheen M says:

    Too cute…say hi to your dad for me! 🙂

  2. Al says:

    🙂 that’s the real you! too cute!

  3. Drew says:

    I met your dad the same way in undergrad. I waved back.

Leave a Reply

