Live Horse Racing in Lexington, KY

Took a break from all that eating and went out to see a live horse racing at Keeneland Thoroughbred Racing & Sales in Lexington, KY, approx. 1hr drive from Louisville. It was a beautiful sunny day (sorry y’all..I heard it snowed in big T.O.). Some ladies went all out and dressed in big fancy hats, killer heels and very ‘feminine’ dresses. Some men dressed in suits, some wore cowboy hats and some just had their regular grungy looks. There was also a big group of the US Army. They exited right before the last race and everyone was clapping while they walked out. It always gives me goose bumps when they do that. I guess it’s a scene that I’m not used to. The flight attendants sometimes ask everyone to applaud the soldiers on board..

Anyways, I got to Keeneland late and only had a chance to bet on the last race. I bet $5 on horse number 7 to place. I was super excited when my horse came third because I thought I won..I didn’t. I should have chosen ‘show’. FYI…

Win: This is the simplest and most common bet. You bet on a winner at given odds. You collect only if your chosen horse is the first across the finish line.

Place: Means you collect if your selected horse finishes either first or second.

Show: Means you collect if your selected horse finishes either first, second or third.

This entry was posted in North America, United States. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

