10 Places Worthwhile Gaining the Pounds for..

Or, that’s what I would like to think.. 😛 Here are the ten restaurants that I enjoyed during my two weeks stay in Louisville.

1. Wild Eggs – Awesome breakfast place! Clean, great service, delicious food. Started with their very tasty biscuits and gravy, then their Lox plate, which is smoked salmon, toasted mini bagel, cream cheese, capers, chopped onions, diced tomato and smoked paprikas. Reminded me of Fran’s in Toronto but better.

2. Wick’s Pizza – Recommended by a co-worker from Louisville, this place did not disappoint. We had The Mighty Me Meaty Wick and Wicky Cheese. They are somewhere between Chicago’s deep dish and New York’s thin pizzas. A definite must-try.

3. PF Chang’s – Great Americanized Chinese food. One thing I learned in Taiwan was that I sometimes preferred this more sweet and less spicy version of Chinese food. Everyone should try their Chicken lettuce wrap as appetizer, their number one selling item.

4. Ted’s Montana Grill – Excellent steak! Founded by Ted Turner, it has an interior style of an old western bar/gentleman’s room. They pride on the fact that they have no freezer and only serve fresh recipes. Service was great too. I sent back my medium well done steak because I wanted a medium rare. Whether it was my ‘r’ or the waiter didn’t hear right, they gave me no trouble and apologized so many times that I felt bad later..They even offered free dessert! This restaurant is actually in Lexington..So, I suggest having a Sunday brunch at Wild Eggs, driving to Keeneland for a horse race or two, then to Lexington outlet mall for some shopping then having steak at Ted’s, which is inside the outlet mall. 🙂 It’s a perfect day.

5. Oishii Sushi – I love finding good Japanese restaurants. It’s a small restaurant that sits probably max 30 people but it was worth the 20mins wait. Portions are unusually large for a Japanese restaurant and fish is fresh.

6. Lynn’s Paradise Cafe – Don’t be fooled by the name. It’s actually a brunch place. Lynn, the owner, has won twice on the Food Network’s Throwdown with Bobby Flay. But was it worth the 90mins wait? Not really. (They do take reservations though..) I had one of the dishes that she beat Bobby with called Kenny’s Kentucky Scramble. It was scrambbled eggs with bacon, white cheddar cheese and fresh diced tomatoes. I founded it a bit too cheesy and mushy. It’s a local and tourist favorite though.

7. Outback Steakhouse – I can’t skip this one. I love their blooming onions. When Outbacks disappeared in Toronto, I actually tried making a blooming onion myself with an Internet recipe. Mine wasn’t so blooming though. It was more like an onion ball. Haha. Anyways, good steakhouse for cheaper price.

8. Havana Rumba Cuban – A favorite by local and foreign colleagues. They all over ate and had to go light the next day. It also has very very good mojitos.

9. Cheddar’s – Humongous portions! Their buffalo wraps could be shared by three people. My favorite was the Chicken Pot Pie. It’s really homemade and served with one side. Also, comes with fresh baked croissant with some kind of sweet sauce. Yum!

10. El Nopal – Good Mexican chain restaurant. Again, huge plates. I ordered Chicken Fajita wraps. It was served in three plates. The one by my hotel had Elvis nights on Thursdays and the ladies went crazy with this Elvis impersonator. They love him! Haha.

This entry was posted in Food, North America, United States. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 10 Places Worthwhile Gaining the Pounds for..

  1. Kristen says:

    Girl, love it. I wanna be you. Soo jealous 🙂

  2. XIAO PO says:

    1. motomachi sakudo denman st vancouver- best ramen in the planet
    2. yoshi denman st vancouver- small dining but really good- best japanese omu rice in the planet.

  3. XIAO PO says:

    remark- yoshi file bankruptcy 😦

Leave a Reply

